Back to Events Calendar
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Teach In: Plastic, Pyrolysis, and So-Called “Chemical Recycling”

October 26, 2023 , 2:00 pm 3:00 pm EDT

Industry calls “chemical recycling,” but it’s a toxic, false climate solution. Using processes like pyrolysis, facilities would break down plastic waste into chemical building blocks used to manufacture new products. In Ohio, there are six of these facilities either proposed or currently operational. In Pascagoula, MS, a Chevron refinery was recently approved to burn a pyrolysis-derived fuel that will emit toxins that cause a 100% risk of cancer with lifetime exposure.

Learn about this false solution and hear from two community organizers — one fighting a proposed pyrolysis plant in his Ohio town, and another from a campaign that shut down an incinerator burning waste in Detroit.

Co-Hosted by Buckeye Environmental Network 

Date: October 10/26, 11am PT / 1pm CT / 2pm ET

Speakers: 

  • Jennifer Cogdon, Beyond Plastics
  • KT Andresky, Breathe Free Detroit
  • Sils Caggiano, SOBE Concerned Citizens
Donate

To Stop Plastic Pollution